Sad Songs – Titled Inspired by the Frames

Before I start this post I’d like to give a huge shout out and thank you to the folks at General Motors who supported the heck out of my last post. It means so much to me.

Now, onto business!

At nearly 22 years old, I was recently the recipient of my very first broken heart. Ah yes, my first one. Oh, the perils of youth. Moving on! Music is often my refuge in painful situations, but I have discovered that some music rubs salt in the wound. And I don’t mean cooking salt, I mean rock salt. Or ice-melting salt. Or a sick combination of the two.

So with my reasonably extensive knowledge of music, and frequent recent music choice fails, I have compiled a brief list of music to be avoided for those of you in similar situations.

1. 80% of any songs by Stars.
2. Avoid the Frames at all costs.
3. The Smiths can be taken in small doses. Pick songs at your discretion.
4. Death Cab for Cutie songs are frequently a poor choice.
5. Coldplay. But honestly, you shouldn’t be listening to Coldplay anyway.
6. The Cure. That’s an obvious one.
7. Any Simon & Garfunkel songs with a woman’s name in the title. Or angst-induced melancholy.
8. Mindless Self Indulgence. The music may be crap, but it will also bring you to the anger stage of grief far faster than you’d like. Also, will exponentially increase the level of said anger.
9. Anything by She & Him. Especially “Sentimental Heart.”
10. Happy music. It will make you bitter.

So, you may ask, if happy music is banned entirely, what do you suggest?
Well, that’s easy.
Put in your ear buds (because they bring the music most directly) and play The Misfits. No, don’t play the Misfits. Blast The Misfits. Rattle your eardrums. Listening to The Misfits renders your brain completely incapable of any thought (and I mean that in a positive way). The music is too fast and too loud to think about anything else.

This is my musical cure. If your ears start ringing, turn the music down. If your eardrums start bleeding, go see a doctor.

11 responses to “Sad Songs – Titled Inspired by the Frames

  1. Y’know, some of us like happy songs when we’re feelin down!

  2. And I’m sorry, but I’m a HUGE fan of Simon & Garfunkel. Don’t judge me!

  3. I’m a huge fan as well! Just not when I’ve had my heart torn out and trampled on. Wow, that was overkill. I’m not bitter at all.

  4. I agree with #5 so heartily that I can barely contain myself. Perhaps I have a sickness but I usually listen to depressing music when I’m depressed. It is making an effort to get to the bottom of my emotions, in a way, to experience them fully and purge myself of them. When my heart was broken during college I put Leonard Cohen’s first album on repeat and drank alone.

  5. personnally…the Byrds (Untitled) did the trick for me all those years ago.

    • Upon further examination I have put together some suggestions by stage of grief. The reason for some are clear, others are just what i found cathartic though. Sometimes ya just need to power through to get over it.

      1 – Denial and Isolation
      Byrds | Untitled

      2 – Anger
      Ska of all sorts, Reel Big Fish, Less than Jake and Streetlight Manifesto are my picks there

      3 – Bargaining
      This is the toughest stage since i am usually a bit literal in bargaining – more bargaining with the object of loss rather than god or fate.
      If I have to choose…
      DMB and Jack Johnson

      4 – Depression
      Belle & Sebastian and Badly Drawn Boy

      5 – Acceptance
      I’m actually going to say stars here. Specifically “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead”.

  6. Please never insult me by referencing DMB on my blog ever again. 😛 However, will concede to Jack Johnson.

  7. I don’t listen to The Cure ever.

    What does that say about me…?

  8. That you have a firm grasp on reality. And happiness.

  9. Definitely Stars, “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead” and–I’m sure I’ll take shit for this, but I can’t help reaching for the angry chick music–Tegan and Sara, The Con, the whole album. Do it.

Leave a Reply

